A Ted talk claims OB/GYNs lie to pregnant women about alcohol and sex. It’s wrong. Here’s why.

Dr. Jen Gunter

screen-shot-2017-01-07-at-8-24-12-pmThere is a new Ted talk circulating calledThe Lies We Tell Pregnant Womengiven by Dr. Sofia Jawed-Wessel. As an OB/GYN it obviously caught my attention.

Dr. Jawed-Wessel mentioned that some of her work centers around sexual behaviors of pregnant and postpartum couples, so I was intrigued especially as I am an expert on pain with sex and see many women with sexual difficulties after delivery. I have frank discussions about sex daily in my office.

I was pleased to hear the mention of uninvited touching of pregnant women and intrusive questions about birthing. Like Dr. Jawed-Wessel I hate the concept that being pregnant somehow places a woman in another category. I firmly believe pregnant women don’t deserve protection anymore than any other woman or man. Women are strong and capable whether they are pregnant or not. Pregnancy does not change a woman’s value or worth. I also hate…

View original post 1,857 more words

Leave a Reply

